About Mic

About Us

Mic was born out of the recognition that the old models of journalism had become less engaging and relevant. While maintaining the rigor and commitment to original reporting and championing essential fact-finding, Mic has sought to give voice to critical news stories from modern and diverse perspectives.

We believe in:

Committed, professional journalism, reimagined

Old-school journalism or shareable clickbait? We reject the idea that professional journalism held to the highest standards can’t be delivered in modern forms that meet people where and how they live. Our stories are grounded in journalistic ethics but are delivered in new and emerging forms.

Diverse perspective on essential facts

The issues we face must be understood from the perspective of those closest to where the impact occurs. Our newsroom houses the most diverse pool of talent in an effort to ensure you get stories rich in detail and distinctions others miss.

First-person journalism and transparency matter

The idea of the dispassionate reporter assumes that the idea of independent fact-finding depends on a lack of first-person perspective. We believe that reporters see the same facts differently depending on their heritage, training and cultural frame of reference. We champion both diversity and transparency as a means of allowing our audience to better understand their world and the issues within it, and to reach their own conclusions.

OUR STORY

Our Story

Mic was founded in 2011 by Chris Altchek and Jake Horowitz, born of the recognition that a new generation of Change Makers crave journalism to give meaning to the world at a moment of great transformation. We are headquartered in New York with teams in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Chicago, Toronto, Kiev, and Stockholm. Mic is a privately held, venture-backed, for-profit media company on a mission to reveal and amplify stories that reshape the world. Our principal investors are Lightspeed Venture Partners, Clark Jermoluk Founders Fund, WPP Ventures, Time Warner Investments and Axel Springer.

Our channels

News, views and ammunition for strong women

Making money, explained

Food and travel, advice and adventure

Shamelessly celebrating beauty

Politics for a new era

Tech powered by change

From the front lines of social justice

Smarter gaming. For everyone.

Entertainment that aims higher

Advertise with us

Mic partners with advertisers to drive their business goals. Our approach to advertising mirrors our editorial ethos: to tell great stories that change minds. We partner through best-in-class video production, social distribution, media and measurement. To learn more, email advertising@mic.com.

Contact us

Advertisingadvertising@mic.com

Feedbackfeedback@mic.com

General Informationinfo@mic.com

Jobsjobs@mic.com

Media Relationsmediainquiries@mic.com

Mic iOS Appappfeedback@mic.com

Story Correctionscorrections@mic.com

Story Submissionssubmissions@mic.com

Technical Assistancetech@mic.com

Tipstips@mic.com

What they’re saying

“Stories that intelligently cover serious issues important to young people.”

“Mic is a news site aimed at the highly coveted millennials, who are increasingly looking online for fresh takes on relevant issues. Among other topics, the site covers world news, policy, technology and science.”

“Closer than any of its competitors to finding the promised land for new media companies, a middle ground between deeply reported stories and listicles.”