Tinder Shareable Profiles: How to Turn Off Dating App's Matchmaking Feature

Tinder Shareable Profiles: How to Turn Off Dating App's Matchmaking Feature

Dating app Tinder has stepped up its game in the online dating world by testing a new feature that allows some users to play matchmaker to their friends, according to a blog post Friday by the company.

When on a profile, users can tap the new "share" icon to text a temporary link of that profile to a friend who can then right or left swipe. If the friend swipes yes and also meets that profile's requirements, like age and location, then they'll appear in that profile's recommendations. 

But if that doesn't sound appealing, the ability to have a shareable profile can be easily turned off by going to Discovery settings.

Read more: Is Tinder the New LinkedIn?

The link expires in five clicks or 72 hours. 

The move is yet another upgrade for the dating app, which in January teamed up with Giphy so  users can send GIFs when words obviously aren't enough.