How to browse privately on your iPhone all the time

How to browse privately on your iPhone all the time

We're all guilty of browsing through embarrassing websites from time to time. It's generally best if your internet history stays secret, especially with a device like the iPhone, which can sync with other Apple devices like a MacBook or iPad via iCloud. Luckily, there's a simple solution to ensuring your browsing history remains private.

How to turn on private browsing

To prevent people from digging through your search history or accidentally stumbling across a certain site, turn on private browsing. This is extremely easy on the iPhone: all you need to do is open the Safari app and tap the pages icon, which looks like two squares overlapping each other at the bottom right corner of the screen.

From here you'll see all of your open tabs. Tucked in the bottom left corner is the Private button, which activates private browsing.

Once private browsing is turned on, Safari should now appear in a darkish grey color. This means going forward, Safari won't remember the pages you visit or your search history. The browser won't autofill any text from your previous searches in Safari, though the autofills from before will still be present. To get rid of those, clear your search history, which is found under bookmarks page.

That's all there is to it. Private browsing remains activated until you turn it off again.