Subscribe to Mic Daily
We’ll send you a rundown of the top five stories every day

It's been seven months since Prince died of an accidental overdose at the age of 57. Even though we no longer have the musical legend with us, his legacy lives on in 4Ever, a two-disc album that contains 40 of the singer's greatest tracks. 4Ever was officially released on Nov. 22, and includes "Moonbeam Levels," a previously unreleased song.

"Moonbeam Levels"

"Moonbeam Levels" was taken off of Prince's 1999 studio sessions. The song, originally recorded in 1982, has often been bootlegged. However, this will mark the first time the song gets an official release. 

It was scheduled to appear on Rave Unto The Joy Fantastic, an album that never saw the light of day.

Below are the opening lyrics to "Moonbeam Levels," courtesy of Genius.

[Verse 1]
Yesterday I tried 2 write a novel but I didn't know where 2 begin
So I laid down in the grass tryin' 2 feel the world turn
Boy loses girl in a rain storm, nuclear World War III
All that's left is pain and sorrow, as far as he's concerned

He says please send all your moonbeam levels 2 me
Please send all your moonbeam levels 2 me
Please send all your moonbeam levels 2 me
I'm lookin' 4 a better place 2 die

4Ever track list

4Ever contains tracks like "Little Red Corvette," "Purple Rain" and "Kiss." The album is the first time music has been released since the artist's death in April. A deluxe re-issue of Purple Rain was also announced in October. The re-issue will not drop until next year.

The 40-song track list for 4Ever goes as follows:

1. "1999"
2. "Little Red Corvette"
3. "When Doves Cry"
4. "Let's Go Crazy"
5. "Raspberry Beret"
6. "I Wanna Be Your Lover"
7. "Soft and Wet"
8. "Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad"
9. "Uptown"
10. "When You Were Mine"
11. "Head"
12. "Gotta Stop (Messin' About)"
13. "Controversy"
14. "Let's Work"
15. "Delirious"
16. "I Would Die 4 U"
17. "Take Me With U"
18. "Paisley Park"
19. "Pop Life"
20. "Purple Rain"
21. "Kiss"
22. "Sign 'O' The Times"
23. "Alphabet Street"
24. "Batdance"
25. "Thieves In The Temple"
26. "Cream"
27. "Mountains"
28. "Girls & Boys"
29. "If I Was Your Girlfriend"
30. "U Got The Look"
31. "I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man"
32. "Glam Slam"
33. "Moonbeam Levels"
34. "Diamonds and Pearls"
35. "Gett Off"
36. "Sexy MF"
37. "My Name Is Prince"
38. "7"
39. "Peach"
40. "Nothing Compares 2 U"

Album extras

In addition to the music, the album carries a 12-page booklet with unreleased photos of Prince. The photos — including the cover of the album — are all taken by famed fashion photographer Herb Ritts, who died in 2002. iTunes also has a digital version of the booklet, attached at the end of the setlist. 

Prince's "4Ever"Source: Warner Bros./Npg
Prince's "4Ever"  Warner Bros./Npg

Prince's estate and streaming

The release of 4Ever also coincides with a lawsuit Prince's estate and label, NPG, filed in early November against streaming service Tidal and Roc Nation, the entertainment company that owns Tidal. The lawsuit claims that Tidal is streaming over 12 of Prince's albums without permission. 

Back in July 2015, almost a year before Prince passed away, he removed his music from streaming sites like Spotify and Apple Music. Nevertheless, in September of the same year, Prince released his 38th studio album, HitNRun Phase One, exclusively to Tidal. 

Prince's estate and NPG claim that Tidal has no right to stream any of Prince's catalog, and that nothing was signed claiming such a deal. Roc Nation disagrees.

Until it's settled, Tidal is the only streaming service where one can listen to most of Prince's discography. 4Ever is currently available for purchase on iTunes and Amazon Music.