Subscribe to Mic Daily
We’ll send you a rundown of the top five stories every day

The year is 2014, President Barack Obama has publicly endorsed same-sex marriage, DOMA is dead, states around the nation are pushing to enact same-sex marriage laws — and gay sex is still symbolically illegal in Louisiana.

Yes, you read that right. Despite all of the progress made so far on LGBT rights, on Tuesday, Louisiana voted to uphold the state's anti-sodomy law, 67-27, despite it being ruled unconstitutional by the Supreme Court, in their landmark 2003 Lawrence v. Texas decision. 

In its decision, the court ruled that laws prohibiting sodomy seek "to control a personal relationship that, whether or not entitled to formal recognition in the law, is within the liberty of persons to choose without being punished as criminals."

Unless you live in Louisiana? 

In fact, in addition to Louisiana and Texas, Idaho, Utah, Michigan, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Kansas and Oklahoma have all maintained their own anti-sodomy laws, despite their direct conflict with the Supreme Court's decision. In three of these states — Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas — such anti-sodomy laws pertain exclusively to "homosexual conduct." 

The Louisiana bill in question, HB12, proposed to amend "crime against nature..." and was introduced in January by State House Representative Patricia Smith (D-Baton Rouge). Although it seems painfully obvious that there is no reason on Earth to maintain such a law, Smith's proposed bill was a direct response to the targeted arrests of gay men in her district who were profiled and lured by undercover police to agree to consensual sex. At least 12 men have been arrested in this "sodomy sting" since 2011, despite the fact that prosecutors refused to bring charges in every single case. 

Opponents who voted against the bill illogically claimed that its passage would make children more vulnerable to sexual predators. "Just because we decriminalize things doesn’t make it right," said State Representative Valarie Hodges (R-Denham Springs), adding that the vote was "a vote of conscience." This is the kind of offensive, backwards logic that has perpetuated damaging and scientifically disproved stereotypes about the LGBT community for decades. The difference? This vote took place this week, not in the 1930s.

Without further ado, here are the 67 different lawmakers, both conservative and liberal, who voted to make sure an unconstitutional, offensive and all-around absurd anti-gay law should remain on their state's books. 

1. Representative Bryan Adams 
Republican District 85

2. Representative John F. "Andy" Anders 
Democrat District 21

3. Representative James K. Armes III 
Democrat District 30

4. Representative Taylor F. Barras 
Republican District 48

5. Representative John A. Berthelot 
Republican District 88

6. Representative Robert E. Billiot 
Democrat District 83

7. Representative Stuart J. Bishop 
Republican District 43

8. Representative Chris Broadwater 
Republican District 86

9. Representative Terry R. Brown 
Independent District 22

10. Representative Henry L. Burns 
Republican District 9

11. Representative Timothy G. "Tim" Burns 
Republican District 89

12. Representative Thomas G. Carmody, Jr. 
Republican District 6

13. Representative Stephen F. Carter 
Republican District 68

14. Representative Simone B. Champagne 
Republican District 49

15. Representative Charles R. Chaney 
Republican District 19

16. Representative Patrick Connick 
Republican District 84

17. Representative Gregory Cromer 
Republican District 90

18. Representative Michael E. Danahay 
Democrat District 33

19. Representative Gordon E. Dove, Sr.
Republican District 52

20. Representative James R. "Jim" Fannin 
Republican District 13

21. Representative Raymond E. Garofalo, Jr. 
Republican District 103

22. Representative Brett F. Geymann 
Republican District 35

23. Representative Jerry Gisclair 
Democrat District 54

24. Representative Hunter V. Greene 
Republican District 66

25. Representative Mickey J. Guillory 
Democrat District 41

26. Representative John E. Guinn 
Republican District 37

27. Representative Lance Harris 
Republican District 25

28. Representative Joe Harrison 
Republican District 51

29. Representative Kenneth E. Havard 
Republican District 62

30. Representative Cameron Henry 
Republican District 82

31. Representative Bob Hensgens 
Republican District 47

32. Representative Dorothy Sue Hill 
Democrat District 32

33. Representative Valarie Hodges 
Republican District 64

34. Representative Frank A. Hoffmann 
Republican District 15

35. Representative Paul Hollis 
Republican District 104

36. Representative Frank A. Howard 
Republican District 24

37. Representative Mike Huval 
Republican District 46

38. Representative Barry Ivey 
Republican District 65

39. Representative Robert A. Johnson 
Democrat District 28

40. Representative Sam Jones 
Democrat District 50

41. Representative Eddie J. Lambert 
Republican District 59

42. Representative H. Bernard LeBas 
Democrat District 38

43. Representative Christopher J. Leopold 
Republican District 105

44. Representative Joseph P. Lopinto III 
Republican District 80

45. Representative Nick Lorusso 
Republican District 94

46. Representative Sherman Q. Mack 
Republican District 95

47. Representative Gregory A. Miller 
Republican District 56

48. Representative John C. "Jay" Morris, III 
Republican District 14

49. Representative James H. "Jim" Morris 
Republican District 1

50. Representative J. Kevin Pearson 
Republican District 76

51. Representative Erich E. Ponti 
Republican District 69

52. Representative J. Rogers Pope 
Republican District 71

53. Representative Stephen E. Pugh 
Republican District 73

54. Representative Steve E. Pylant 
Republican District 20

55. Representative H. Eugene Reynolds 
Democrat District 10

56. Representative Jerome Richard 
Independent District 55

57. Representative Harold L. Ritchie 
Democrat District 75

58. Representative Clay Schexnayder 
Republican District 81

59. Representative John M. Schroder, Sr. 
Republican District 77

60. Representative Alan Seabaugh 
Republican District 5

61.Representative Robert E. Shadoin 
Republican District 12

62. Representative Scott M. Simon 
Republican District 74

63. Representative Julie Stokes 
Republican District 79

64. Representative Kirk Talbot 
Republican District 78

65. Representative Jeff R. Thompson 
Republican District 8

66. Representative Lenar L. Whitney 
Republican District 53

67. Representative Thomas P. Willmott 
Republican District 92

Image Credit (all): Louisiana State Legislature